Edo Election Tribunal endorses Idahosa’s victory



The Edo State Election Petition Tribunal on Sunday upheld the election of Hon. Dennis Idahosa of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as winner of the Ovia Federal Constituency election in Edo state.

Omosede Igbinedion of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), had filed a petition before the tribunal challenging the declaration of the Hon. Idahosa, by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Idahosa of the APC who is the House of Representatives’ Chairman, House Committee on Legislative Compliance, polled 28,509 votes to defeat Igbinedion who scored 23,345 votes.

Omosede Igbinedion had asked the Tribunal to declare her winner of the February 23, 2019 National Assembly election.

She alleged that Idahosa was not qualified to contest the election, and that he did not score majority of lawful votes and that the votes allocated to him should be declared invalid.

Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *